Inspirational Quotes

clTHE CRIMSON LEAGUE is FREE for download February 11-15, 2013! Check out these inspiration quotes from the book. If you like what you read, you can get the novel from amazon.com here!

1.THE PRICE OF POWER:

First Kora had denied her sorcery; then she had grown apprehensive, and next, a bit enthralled by it. Now she viewed it as a duty. Not a sacrifice, as Laskenay considered magic, but a duty. She remembered something her father had told her the morning of her first day of school: knowledge brings power, and responsibility is always power’s flipside. He used a bronze piece to illustrate the point. One side represented power, the other responsibility, bonded together, inseparable.

2. SEDDER’S ADVICE:

Kora knew Sedder well enough to tell when the advice he gave grained against his will. His voice was slow, deliberate, and he made himself look at her intently, as though to watch her somehow pulled the words from his mouth. “What you need to worry about is the price on your head. Listen to me, if you have to go down, go down fighting. Make your story one worth telling, and Herezoth will hear it. People will respond.”

“What if Herezoth’s not around to see when…?”

“Herezoth will be there. You are Herezoth.”

Kora bit her lip. “Because of the ruby?” she whispered.

“Because you’re ordinary. Because you’re from a small town. Because…. Kora, if they do find you alone, pretend you aren’t. Pretend Zac’s watching. Act as though he is, that’s all you have to do. That’s simple, right? Make him proud.”

3. A MOTHER’S WISDOM:

She and Zacry stayed up late, chatting. Laughing. Reminiscing. They talked about the games they used to play, their mother’s cooking and father’s stories, the weekend trips into Hogarane that always thrilled them, when Sedder would tag along with their family to visit the market or the park, or the city museum their father dragged them to year after year. They called their old teacher, Mr. Gared, lots of names, and Zacry asked questions about the school of magic Kora really could not answer, except to remind him that no matter how bad things got, he just needed to remember what their mother used to tell them: “One step at a time, one choice to be made, the choice to be honest and just. When you feel overwhelmed, or feel slighted or small, that’s the time this is really a must.”

Zacry smiled. “I remember the first time she told me that. I got angry over something, I think you stopped me taking your quill. We only had that one, Father’s old ratty one to share, right? They wouldn’t let us touch his others. I complained to Mother, and she asked if I thought it was fair to take your quill or fairer to wait my turn.”

“I don’t remember that,” said Kora.

“I remember, all right. I said I didn’t care about fairness, you’d been drawing for an hour already. Mother tanned my hide.”

Kora laughed. “She would. A response like that!”

4. LANOKAS’S TAKE ON DEATH:

Kora shivered at his response. “Bennie once said she expected we’d all be killed. She was so calm about it. She’d accepted that fate, that’s what it was. She’d accepted it somehow. I don’t know that I have.”

“So you’re frightened.”

“Out of my skull. Aren’t you?”

“I’ve had more time to come to terms with the thought of a violent death. I wouldn’t say I’m comfortable with the idea, but death itself isn’t what matters. It’s the moment just before, when they say your life flashes before your eyes. If I feel anything other than shame then, well, I’m hoping it puts the years I’ll lose in perspective.”

Join the Conversation

