One Step Closer– And A Ways Still To Go.

Ahh… the live of a novelist!

Yesterday afternoon, I finished editing “The King’s Sons” from my read-through notes. I had close to 130 comments for myself, and this is the last novel in my fantasy trilogy, the final installment, so it’s REALLY exciting to see the draft start coming together, because this wraps up not just a novel but the series. The entire story. We’re talking seven years of my life coming to fruition, and it’s been a crazy journey, considering when I finished the first novel of the three, I didn’t realize it had the makings of a series. That book, “The Crimson League,” could easily stand on its own.

It’s interesting…. I feel like I’ve worked so long on this last novel already. In six months I wrote the first draft, let that sit, read through it to take notes, and then edited extensively based on the comments and questions that arose from the read-through. I’ve spent hours and hours working on this piece, to the point that I’m starting to feel tired of it, and there’s SO much work left to go. I want to read through slowly one more time and make changes as I go. Then I’ll need to send the manuscript off to my trusty beta-readers, and once they’ve had their say, that’s a WHOLE ‘nother round of extensive changes.

But you know what? That’s why writing is work. It’s respectable, hard work, and I’m glad to have the opportunity to do it. There’s nothing else I’d rather do!!! I love my characters, I love their stories, and I love to think maybe they’ve inspired a few other people too–at least those who appear in the first novel! (It’s the only one currently released.)

One response to “One Step Closer– And A Ways Still To Go.

  1. I know exactly how you feel. Revisons never seem to end. Its tedious and frustrating but also satisfying. Good luck and congratulations on (almost) finishing the series.

Join the Conversation

