My Top Facebook Tips for Authors

As promised, after the success of My Top Ten Twitter Tips: Marketing for Writers, which a lot of people said they found helpful (I was so glad to hear that from y’all!), here is a post about using Facebook for promotion. For examples of a Facebook author page, you can check out my author fan page at https://www.facebook.com/greferauthor and the fan page for my first published novel, The Crimson League, at https://www.facebook.com/TheCrimsonLeague.

  1. CREATE A FAN PAGE AND PROMOTE IT ON ALL YOUR OTHER MEDIA OUTLETS. Author 101: Link it with your blog, your website. Tweet it. If you belong to the Independent Author Network, make sure it’s there. Everywhere you have an online presence, include it.
  2. CREATE ONLY ONE PAGE. I have two, as I said above: one for my first novel and one promoting me. It’s too much. It’s too much of a hassle to keep one or two new posts of interesting and engaging content on two pages each day. You really should be putting something fun on your Facebook page daily, something your fans will want to see: that could be memes about reading or writing, or the topic about which you write. It could be fun quotes. But really, one page, promoting you. That’s all you need.
  3. I NO LONGER SPEND MONEY ON FACEBOOK ADVERTISING. I did to start out, and while it brought in the “likes,” I saw no carryover into sales (though at that point I didn’t really have the kindle version up and running yet, only paperback.  Another mistake of mine). I noticed a lot of the likes were from profiles with really exotic locations listed, and then I started to find articles like this one from CNN, which estimates fake accounts on Facebook at 83 million. Or like this one, where a company claims 80% of the likes it received on its Facebook page came from bots. Now, I have no idea how true that is. I’m not claiming the figure is or is not exaggerated. Just remember Facebook charges you by the “like” when you advertise with them, so bots are an issue. That’s why I won’t dump more of my precious marketing funds into Facebook. I don’t consider it to be worth it. That is purely opinion, of course. You might feel differently.
  4. PROMOTE YOUR BOOKS (AND YOUR PAGE) ON APPROPRIATE FACEBOOK PAGES AND ESPECIALLY IN GROUPS. One way to get “likes” without paying for advertising is to promote your page on other pages and groups. I highly recommend G.E. Johnson’s 101 Places to Promote Your Book Online to find these Facebook links: The sites listed in this book either have associated Facebook pages listed with them, or are Facebook groups/pages to promote yourself and your work. Just make sure you follow each page’s rules for posting: some are genre specific, or only want promotions on a specific day of the week, or on a certain thread. No one likes a spammer!
19 responses to “My Top Facebook Tips for Authors

  1. Thanks! My frustration with the FB page is that, yes, there are places where authors are doing Likes for Likes (I’ve done this through 2 Goodreads forums in my genres), but in that situation no one is reading anything on the page, they’re just going through and Liking as fast as they can. I’m guilty of it – if you say you’ll do it, you certainly don’t want to be a liar! I’m not sure how to read READERS with the FB page… Even when I put it on Twitter, since most of my Tweeps are authors, it’s kind of the same thing. I thought Goodreads would connect me to readers, but the readers aren’t very active, it’s the authors who are. Marketing is just frustrating, isnt’ it??

    • Victoria Grefer

      so frustrating! great point! yes, I’ve been guilty of that myself too, just going through and liking, so I can’t complain that others do it too. I guess my thought is when a genuine fan does stumble onto the page, it just looks better to have as high a number of “likes” as possible.

  2. Hi Victoria,

    A good tip for authors would be , give your social audience a “preview” of your book (for example a chapter)

  3. Pingback: Marketing Fantasy When It’s Not About Vampires: Social Media Mayhem! | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  4. When I started promoting my book “for Children how to become Rich Successful & do well in school” it was suggested to me that I advertise on Facebook. I am glad you confirmed my fears with fake accounts, note and little to no carry over.

  5. Pingback: Why I Don’t Sync Twitter and Facebook: Or a Tale of Two Tweets (Well, a Tweet and a Facebook Post | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  6. As an avid reader you’ve all got my attention but I’m hearing a lot about how you struggle to market your books must be so frustrating. I’m planning a new site for promoting indie writers and I’ll help all I can with sharing and reblogging for you. Please think where would ‘Readers’ be without good ‘Good Writers’, you’re important to us. 🙂

    • oh my gosh, thanks so much! that’s so great to hear it gives me the warm fuzzies 🙂 readers are the best. there actually is nothing that works as well as read of mouth promotion from people who have read a book and enjoyed it, telling people they should read it.

  7. PS. Please don’t think I’m flogging something, I’m not selling a service or anything, just want to do it for pleasure.

  8. Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:
    Some important tips for those of us struggling with Facebook Pages from Victoria Grefer.

  9. Victoria, a number of bloggers I follow have Facebook pages and we want to Like each other’s pages. However, when I’m in my Facebook Page mode (as distinct from my personal account), some Pages I can Like and others I can’t. I’m perplexed as to what the problem is. Have you had this issue? I’ve even compare the URLs to see if there is something (anything) different, but it’s impossible for me to see the difference between what might be an author’s Page and what might be their personal account. It seems like one have to have a personal account in order to build a Page, which just adds to the confusion. I’ve taken to banging my head against the wall. Do you have any advice? Thanks! Love your blog and your FB page 🙂

    • You do have to have a facebook profile (personal account) in order to build a page.

      I don’t know too much about this. I’ve never really tried to use facebook from my page, and I don’t “like” pages from my page because I know those “likes” don’t register on a page’s “like” count.

      I make sure to “like” pages from my personal account to give a page the extra number.

      I didn’t realize some pages didn’t let pages like them, though. I though pages could always like other pages. Maybe it is an option in page setup, whether you let pages like your page or not?

    • I just looked through my page settings, to see if there was anything about allowing pages to like. I didn’t see anything…. I don’t know if you’re dealing with a bug. Have you contacted FB support?

      • Thanks, Victoria, for both of your comments. I’m not sure if it’s bugs or what because other people I know are having similar problems. I really don’t understand why the likes we make from our author page don’t count. I mean, one of the thing I like about the page is being able to feature the other writers that I like. Grrrr. Maybe this is just FB’s way to make us use it more 😉 Very sneaky of Zuckerberg … Anyway, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and look at your own settings. What you said does make sense in light of other things I’ve seen. Cheers!

        • Glad it could help in some small way! Yeah, pages liking pages not counting in the numbers is a pain. The only thing it does is add a link to that page in your page, if you have the page set to do that.

        • Yes, I have my blogger page set so I can like other pages on it. Plus I do like the Featured Likes box and always add my new Likes to it. I think of it as another way of showing my appreciation for being liked 🙂

Join the Conversation

