NaNoWriMo: Why I’m Excited!

This is the first in a two part series about how I feel approaching the challenge of my first attempt at NaNoWriMo: writing 50,000 words of a new novel during the month of November. My novel, “The Esclavan Abductions,” will begin the next chapter of my fantasy world, Herezoth, after the initial trilogy I’ve written and set there. The basic concept? People are disappearing from Herezoth’s fishing villages, and it turns out slave traders from enemy kingdom Esclavay might be to blame. But how much help do they have from the citizens of Herezoth? What role are Herezothan smugglers playing? Can sorcerer Zate Polve unravel the plot in time to save its victims?

While I have some doubts and fears, I’m also really excited, and here’s why:

  1. A MILESTONE IN MY WRITING CAREER. While I definitely don’t feel like everyone has to do NaNoWriMo to be a genuine writer or something like that, when I heard about the challenge for the first time, I definitely felt that– in my personal case–it was something I could consider a rite of passage as I continue to develop as a writer and published author. It feels like the next step in my individual journey. Even if I don’t make my word count, I know I’ll be glad I tried. NaNo veterans: did you feel this way? If you’re a NaNo newbie, do you share this approach when it comes to yourself? I’m curious.
  2. I’LL LEARN TONS FROM THE EXPERIENCE. Regardless of success or failure, I think this is an opportunity for me to grow and develop a lot in a really short time as a writer. Even if I only hit 30,000 or 40,000 words, that amount of experience writing fiction in a month is nothing to sneeze at. I’d take it in a heartbeat, though of course I’m really hoping to hit my 50k! If I end up scrapping the WIP after, well, I don’t think trashing a work in progress is ever a waste.
  3. I’M HOPING TO USE IT AS AN EXPERIMENT. As I might have said before, NaNo is the perfect chance for me to try working with some kind of an outline–a new prospect for me–to see how that process is different from writing as a “pantser” and whether I like it. It’s also adds extra motivation for me to ignore my inner editor and NOT edit as I write my first draft. (See “Why editing and writing should be separate processes.”) How can you incorporate personal experiments into your NaNo attempt this year? Are you planning to do so? Please comment, and we can all share ideas.

FYI/SHAMLESS END-OF-BLOG PLUG: the first novel in my Herezoth trilogy, “The Crimson League,” will be free Monday through Wednesday on amazon.com in e-book format! If you’re interested you can check it out here.

11 responses to “NaNoWriMo: Why I’m Excited!

  1. I am excited about NaNoWriMo, too. I’m not as experienced as you are writing, so I’m keeping the bar low at quantity, not necessarily quality. I still think that having the knowledge that I could do it, will be a huge leap forward. My biggest goal is forcing myself to continue writing, as I fight off my inner judge and editor. I’ve downloaded your new novel – hoping to get to it this winter. How exciting for you!

    • sounds great! NaNo seems to be a fantastic learning tool. A great way to just gain experience and get those words on the page, like you say: to continue writing. Good luck!!!

      and I hope you like the novel! 🙂

  2. Last Nov was my first NaNo, and I went into it fully expecting to write crap. And I’d decided that was perfectly ok (that’s a hard step!). The community on the forums and in your region are really great sources for inspiration and that extra kick in the pants, and I learned to love word wars in our regional chat room when I was needing words for my count. You’ll do great!

  3. Enjoy your first NaNo experience. I did my first and only 2 years ago and it was a sort of rite of passage. I was actually pleasantly surprised how much of what I wrote ended up being pretty good. The forums were good but once the writing really got going I didn’t spend much time there – but the motivational emails kept me going. It was hard work, but it was somehow easier knowing there were a lot of other people in the same boat. Good luck – hope to see you over there!

  4. Yay, you for giving it a shot! You’re spot on with the options of participating in this event. I was just going to write my own post about NaNo but had to stop and read this first. If you’re going in with an outline, have you read Roz Morris’s book Nail Your Novel? It’s excellent.

    You’re absolutely right about meeting a lot of great people during this event. Last year we had a local kick off party in town and a few write-a-thons at someone’s house. It’s great fun and keeps you stimulated.

    If I decide to do it again this year, let’s keep in contact for some writer-blog encouragement.

  5. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: Why I’m Terrified! | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  6. 50K words in a month certainly sounds like a Trial by Fire. I hope you learn all you wish from it.

Join the Conversation

