A Reminder of Why I Write

To NaNo or not to NaNo? That has become the question.

So, I’m writing this on October 23rd. I was really down in the dumps this morning, despite the fact that my amazon KDP select promo’s going well. It’s slowed down, but it’s already the second best one I’ve done. Nothing to sneeze at, for sure.

To be honest, I’ve been really anxious lately about all kinds of things, mostly things career/job-related. It’s been spilling over into what I consider my “real” calling: my writing life. I started freaking out about NaNoWriMo, and how ridiculous I am to attempt it this year and at this time. I’ve even been considering just throwing in the towel before November starts and not attempting it after all. The thing is, every time i almost decide that, I realize it would be stupid. I can do the best I can with NaNo, and if I don’t make it, I don’t make it. It’s really not a big deal. NaNo’s supposed to be fun, and it gets to the point during November that it’s increasing my anxiety, I’ll stop then. No reason to stop ahead of time. I’m really hoping I can get my 50,000 words.

Sorry if that’s wordy, but that’s my set-up. That was my frame of mind as I set all that aside to outline the next chapter in my NaNo novel. The second big action scene. And as I was working…. the magic happened. Inspiration hit, as I wrote about yesterday. I didn’t know where the scene would take me, and I ended up ecstatic about where the characters led. The thought hit me: this is fun. This would be fun to read and it’ll be fun to write next month.

It was a nice reminder of why I write. Of why my fiction’s such a huge part of who I am and a large component of what keeps me sane. I really needed to recall why writing’s such a passion for me, and why it makes sense for me to keep writing and marketing my books and pursuing a career in fiction even if it’s hard to justify it in a “logical” sense based on where my life is right now. So yea! I really am excited about NaNoWriMo and my book release in November. I just need to summon the energy to get the rest of my life in order, and I know I can, and will, do that. Until then, my writing’s a constant I know will always be there.

3 responses to “A Reminder of Why I Write

  1. Cate Russell-Cole

    Good on you! I am not in NaNo for the prize, just for the time crunch push and support. I am doing it over 6 weeks, as a month is not enough with everything else going on. I hope you thrive!

Join the Conversation

