NaNoWriMo Day 1 Recap: Avaunt, foul inner editor! Avaunt and quit my sight!

It’s here!!!!!

I can sum up my thoughts about NaNo day 1 like this: NO INNER EDITOR FOR ME TODAY! SO STOKED!

I did things according to plan today (November 1). Wrote mostly in the morning, and more in the afternoon, and ended up with almost 7000 words on Day 1! That alone is proof the inner editor is in hibernation. One of the major reasons I’m doing NaNoWriMo is to try to put a muffler on him, and I’ve succeeded. I usually can’t, but I need to learn to do that. Well, the drive to crank out those words and reach my 50k has proved (at least today) to be sufficient motivation to gag the beast.

I know this is so because there was a moment, in particular, when I realized I was writing an information dump. Lots of background info in four consecutive paragraphs about the Count of Carphead and his late wife. My first thought upon realizing it was, “Dang! Dang it, I always do that. It didn’t look like it would be an information dump in the outline…. Dang!” And then I told myself, very calmly (and internally, as I was sitting in a cafe and I didn’t want people thinking I was nuts by talking to myself), “It’s cool. That’s what’s editing is for. You can move all this around after November and after you have a completed first draft. It’s fine for now. Just keep going.”

And somehow I did!!!

I can totally move/erase that info later, or at least some of it. A lot of it is necessary info to understand the story and the characters, so my thought right now is that I’ll do more shifting stuff around than deleting. We’ll see for sure when everything’s done. For the moment, it’s onward and upward.

Happy NaNo-ing!

8 responses to “NaNoWriMo Day 1 Recap: Avaunt, foul inner editor! Avaunt and quit my sight!

  1. You got rid of your inner editor?! Congrats! Mine’s a pain too and since I’ve started NaNo he’s vanished! Yay! πŸ™‚

  2. My inner editor may have taken a time out, but my surly side is on the rise. I miss procrastination.

  3. Way to go! Although I’m not participating, I’m cheering on all of you guys who are! Hat’s off to you. πŸ™‚

Join the Conversation

