Writing to Fulfill You (and No One Else)

I find the beginnings of a story, much like a paleontologist on a dig for fossils or bones who uncovers the tip of something special, and I just HAVE to see what I can uncover if I keep digging to unearth the whole thing

I’ve written a post kind of similar to this once before, “The One Reason to Write,” but today, I wanted to revisit the theme of writing for YOU: to fulfill yourself, to get that story out, to create something that will gnaw inside of you if you let it sit and fester.

I’m returning to this because I’ve been excited all day about the next scene I get to write in my NaNoWriMo novel, the fourth of my Herezoth novels. It’s a great action scene, and the first one I’d say I’ve ever written about my sorcerers with an evil sorceress really taking charge and keeping readers–well, me at least!–on the edge of my seat as a long-planned scheme unfolds. I LOVE this villain sorceress as a baddie, and I just adore Princess Melinda, who’s unfortunate enough to be focus of her plot. (Melinda herself’s unlike any of the other women I’ve written about in terms of personality. She shares my tendency to talk around people she’s comfortable with when she feels uncomfortable. And she’s also a bit emotional, more so than my other female characters have been.)

THE THRILLS AND EXCITEMENT OF THE PROCESS

I know writing can feel like work sometimes (because it is). It can become a chore. And that’s okay. That doesn’t mean you aren’t or can’t be a writer, if you get into a slump and those days where you struggle to get something done seem more common than the days when the words flow. But I think any experienced writer would agree that there are always scenes and moments that just make you want to jump up and cheer, and even if those moments come few and far between, they’re something special, and they’re what keeps a writer going.

Outlining in October, when I realized I could include this plot in the character arc of sorceress Verony, I was so excited I started walking around the living room to get my energy out. I couldn’t wait to develop this aspect of the story, and now I can’t wait to get it down.

It can actually be really hard when I get in that “This is awesome” mode. When I reach the “This idea came to me from nowhere and I don’t even feel like I can take credit for it, but it’s amazing” frame of mind. I immediately want to share the joy and the emotion with someone, and that’s hard to do, if not impossible, for a lot of reasons. Usually the idea’s too complex to explain, and also, I generally feel it’s a bad idea to share too much about a WIP with other people.

But those moments are why I write. I write because I find the beginnings of a story, much like a paleontologist on a dig for fossils or bones who uncovers the tip of something special, and I just HAVE to see what I can uncover if I keep digging to unearth the whole thing. I write, as I’ve said before, for ME. To calm that itch to know what I’ve stumbled upon….

Well, I’m loving “The Esclavan Abductions.” It’s becoming quite a dinosaur!

2 responses to “Writing to Fulfill You (and No One Else)

  1. I read the title, and I thought, now this girl knows it. The pleasure from getting that idea out of your head, and onto the pages, there is nothing like it. When I drive, and the scenes seem to just all fall into place, I race home, to write. ❤

Join the Conversation

