This Writer’s 2012: One. Crazy. Year.

a moment to rest and reflect on a year almost gone....

a moment to rest and reflect on a year almost gone….

Looking back on 2012, things have been pretty crazy for me these last twelve months. I’ve had an epic writing year (at least for me.) Here are the highlights:

  • I self-published two novels I had written and edited substantially over the last five years: “The Crimson League” and “The Magic Council,” the first two installments of my Herezoth trilogy.
  • Though I am a perfectionist and routinely freak out about publishing too soon, I have 7 five star and 7 four star reviews for my first novel on amazon.com, so I guess that’s not too shabby.
  • Assuming I finish a first draft of “The Esclavan Abductions” by the end of the month, I will have written first drafts of two more novels in 2012. The other novel, “The King’s Sons,” is the conclusion of my Herezoth trilogy.
  • I won my first National Novel Writing Month Challenge (NaNoWriMo) writing “The Esclavan Abductions.”
  • I started this blog in April, and as of today I have had over 13,11o lifetime views. I’m quite pleased with that. It’s definitely a nice start.

I have explored the world of marketing, and though I still have tons to learn, I’ve got a foot in the door and am doing better and better as things go forward. I’m marketing more and more successfully, learning by trial and error and enjoying getting my feet wet. I can’t help in this month of December looking back on all that’s happened in my writing career, and I realize I just have so, so much to be thankful for and so much to carry with me as I go forward. So I just wanted to post some quick reflections.

  1. IT’S OKAY TO FEEL LIKE I DON’T HAVE IT TOGETHER. It’s okay to feel flustered balancing multiple projects and many hats, as long as the total number isn’t morethan a person can objectively handle over a period of time. It’s okay to have a first draft, an edit of a different story, blog posts to write, and marketing to do all hanging consistently over your head. If you don’t get to marketing for a couple of days…. that’s all right. If you don’t get to edit and write both in a forty-eight hour period and have to pick and choose, well, that’s all right too. This is what life is about. I’m only human, and I can’t be in control of everything. I never can or will be, and I don’t have to be. In spite of feeling that I’ve never had a real handle on things this whole year, I have some accomplishments that to me, personally, are very significant. Out of nowhere, it seems! I guess life works like that.
  2. THANKS TO THOSE WHO REVIEWED MY BOOK HIGHLY. Your kind words and support mean more to me than I can say. You have renewed my confidence and brought me to tears of joy at the thought that someone out there enjoyed my work and that it moved you somehow. That is why I decided to take the plunge and publish, and you have kept my spirits high when I doubted myself and when felt unsure I was moving in the right direction.
  3. THANKS TO THOSE WHO REVIEWED MY BOOK POORLY. I have a two star and a one star review posted elsewhere than Amazon, and I’m grateful to those readers for sharing their honest opinions about my work. Thanks for helping me learn I can’t please everyone, and that I’m not an outright failure or a bad writer because I can’t do that. Thanks for helping me to identify how I can improve as I go forward: your input has proved helpful in that regard. Thanks for taking the time to download and read at least part of my novel. I honestly appreciate you giving me and work a chance.
  4. I KNOW WHO I AM, MORE SO THAN I DID THIS TIME LAST YEAR. The risks and adventures, the ups and downs of this year have taught me so much about myself, my shortcomings, and my strengths. I’ve learned I had the strength to just go for it…. something I never could say about myself before. I’ve discovered that this “writer” thing, which I’ve always wanted to do, is within my reach if I just put in the hard work. This has always been my dream…. And like all dreams, it hasn’t been exactly the picture-perfect image I had in my head ahead of time, and that’s totally fine. Life is never, ever what we expect it will be, and I’ve learned to be okay with that. I’ve learned to enjoy the journey and each small step and larger milestone along the way.
  5. I AM BLESSED WITH THE BEST FRIENDS AND FAMILY IN THE WORLD. That just about says it all. The kind words, the support…. I am so, so grateful!!!
7 responses to “This Writer’s 2012: One. Crazy. Year.

  1. This is an uplifting and encouraging post, Victoria. A big ‘well done’ to you for all your achievments! You have a good attitude towards life; all should take note.

    (And as for those who reviewed your work poorly – they’re just jealous :-))

  2. Victoria,

    A great year. Not so much because of the amazing accomplishments as the strong, sure sense of self that you exude here. Put another way, when you exist in the world in this strong, open, and ready way, each day, each year, each moment, is great- whatever you “produce.”

    But I know that it can’t help but feel good to get those words down on paper. So congrats!

    Tom

    • Dear Tom, thanks so much for those kind words! Some of these lessons about letting go and being okay with not being perfect have not come easy for me, but I’m better for them. Can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store.

  3. Reblogged this on judithlesleymarshall and commented:
    Reading this post set me to thinking about reviewing my own writing year. Thanks to all of you who continue to view and follow my blog, and to those of you who have downloaded Zipangu, Year of the Dog 1274: The Second Wave. For those of you who receive a new e-reader from Santa, this book is available free from Smashwords.com until the end of this year. Have a good festive season!

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas! | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  5. Pingback: On establishing myself as a writer (or at least trying to!) | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Join the Conversation

