Merry Christmas!

"And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us."

“And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us.”

Happy Holidays to all, and to my friends of the Christian persuasion, Merry Christmas! I hope everyone has a wonderful, peace-filled, and joyful day today.

For me, Christmas is always a time of reflection: on my faith, on my life, and on the person I am and am becoming. For me, this year, I made some major, major strides towards establishing myself as a writer. And as I sit to write this post, I realize why that means so much to me: the answer is in my faith.

I’m Catholic, and we Catholics have a beautiful prayer called the Angelus, normally said at noon daily. It is a reminder and a celebration of the Annunciation, the moment when “The Word become flesh, and dwelt among us.” I’m starting to realize that I see a connection between Christ’s identity as “The Word  of God” and the words I write on a daily basis. One way I try to live in imitation of the Word is by creating lesser words.

Now, everyone writes for themselves and for other, individual reasons. In my case, while I don’t write Christian fiction, I do strive to write fiction that paints the Christian virtues and–I hope–inspires contemplation about such topics. I write stories that involve sacrifice, humility, forgiveness and compassion, hopeful perseverance, and fortitude in the face of great opposition. I try to write about characters who inspire ME to develop these qualities in my own person, because I can promise, I’m sorely lacking in all of them in one way or another. I try to write stories that enforce upon me that, while the right thing isn’t always easy, I can’t use that as an excuse NOT to do it.

You see, I find it easy to make excuses for myself, and especially for my inactivity/passivity in the face of the evil and suffering in the world. With my fiction, I don’t have that luxury where my characters are concerned. And when I write about characters who act selflessly and see how I admire them, and I judge the ones who follow my example of complacency, it gets me off my butt and volunteering. It gets me to do something in my small way to make a positive difference and bring Christ to the heart of someone else.

So, that’s why I write. That’s what my writing means to me, and a piece of what Christmas means to me. Again, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all! Stay safe, relax, and know peace today!

8 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. Merry Christmas, Victoria. We all have a long way to go as imperfect humans. It’s a good thing we’ve got a shepherd to help us find our way 🙂

  2. Merry Christmas to you, Victoria. God bless.

  3. Merry Christmas!! What a beautiful sentiment! I hope you have a wonderful day today! 🙂

    • thank you, Rebecca. I definitely had a wonderful day…. I hope you did as well!

      • I did too! I don’t get out of the house much and my roommate and I were invited out to dinner at another friend’s new apartment. It was nice to socialize in person for a change! 🙂 I find myself listening more to how people react to certain situations, how they speak, idioms..I never paid this much attention before. It is really amazing what you can witness when your senses are more attuned to it.

Join the Conversation

