New Year’s Resolutions for Your Writing

I’m writing this post on December 31, so New Year’s is on my mind: specifically, the idea of a New Year’s writing-related Resolution. Mine is:

*DRUMROLL PLEASE*

1152417_drums_1

To write two short stories before 2013 ends.

Why am I choosing this? Because I want to branch out and try new things. I’d like to write something set in the real world, in the 21st century and not Herezoth, as much as I love my fantasy world. I want to write something that isn’t fantasy, because I can’t tell you the last time I did that. I think my last contemporary piece (a short story) was four years ago!!!

Do you have a writing resolution? If so, what is it? If you’d like one, here are some challenges you can set yourself!

  • Write every day. That’s right. Every single day of 2013, all 365 of them, for at least half an hour. If you find it hard to get yourself planted and producing words, this is a great resolution.
  • Self-publish that novel you have. Have a novel you’ve been sitting on for a long time? One you feel has potential and that you’ve always wanted to publish? You have twelve months to find beta readers, make edits, and get your masterpiece out there. Go for it!
  • Write a novel in a new genre. If, like me, your writing has generally been in one genre you’re comfortable with, why not expand your horizon (and your writing chops!) by branching out? Try something new. Write a sci-fi. A romance. Literary fiction. Even if it stinks, who cares? You won’t lose out, just gain tons of experience developing your skills.
  • NaNoWriMo. Never taken part in National Novel Writing Month? Why not give it a try? You have ten full months to do as much research, outlining, or other pre-writing as you might want. Then on November 1, you’ll have 30 days to write at least 50,000 words. Sound impossible? It’s not! Stop by nanowrimo.org.
  • Try poetry. Poetry can be awesome. I’ve written just a little…. I’d love to have more. What poetry I have written has been personal and very helpful from a therapeutic/learning about myself standpoint.
5 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions for Your Writing

  1. All the best with your resolutions? Mine? To find an agent for my book The Grey Silk Purse and I’m very determined!

  2. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions for Your Writing | Girl in the Purple Glasses

Join the Conversation

