From Character Sheets to Free Promo: What a Difference 3 and 1/2 Years Make!

Herezoth's next chapter begins today!

I chose a beach scene for the cover because I like the symbolism of life’s ebb and flow involved in the tide. Also, my favorite scene takes place on a beach.

I’m becoming nostalgic as I gear up for a free promotion that starts tomorrow (January 7-11): The second novel in my Herezoth trilogy, “The Magic Council.” I have high hopes, because it’s never been free before and I’ve pulled out all the stops that don’t require money in terms of alerting promo sites that my book is free. (The first book, “The Crimson League,” isn’t free, but it’s on sale for 99 cents. A great deal!)

And that’s all for the plug. This post isn’t meant to be a plug. I’m just realizing, as I hunt for jobs back home in New Orleans and prepare to leave Chicago for good, how things have really come full circle for me here. I started writing the novel that’s going free just a week after I moved to this cold, dark city. I had just finished an edit of its prequel, and decided to continue the story.

I had no idea what the new novel would entail, really. I knew the king’s sons would be major characters, and I remember sitting at my first favorite cafe in Chicago, located in the local Borders (now closed, torn down, and rebuilt to be a clothing store) writing out some ideas and descriptions of the princes. That was August 2009.

I was focused on making the most of a free month to settle in and write my heart out before my first classes as a doctoral student began. I was excited and nervous, and terrified at the thought of braving my first rapidly approaching Chicago winter. I had no clue how much I would come to love the characters in the new book. I never imagined I would work daily on my fiction and self-publish two novels in 2012. I had no clue that when 2013 began I would have two additional novels in editing phases. I had no clue I would leave my program without a degree and without regrets….

“The Magic Council” is very, very dear to me. I’m glad I wrote that sequel instead of starting an unrelated project. When I started the book, I had come up to Chicago knowing nobody, literally. My family was on the other end of the country, and I was the only new student in my program that year, so I didn’t even have a group of fellow newbies to bond with. It took me a long time to settle in and meet people, and during that period, my roll-over characters were kind of the only familiar presences in my life. So it’s awesome to have the book out there, because it didn’t come easy, and it was especially difficult to edit. I’m glad I’ll have my first 5 day promo for it while I’m still in the city where I wrote the vast majority of the first draft. That helps bring closure to my stint in the Windy City.

Well, if you made it down here, thanks for putting up with my nostalgic ramblings. My best promo ever had over 4150 downloads. It would be awesome if I matched that…. I almost wrote that this book is truly a piece of my soul, but I think that’s true of everything I’ve written, and it’s true in that way for every writer out there.

3 responses to “From Character Sheets to Free Promo: What a Difference 3 and 1/2 Years Make!

  1. I just downloaded “The Magic Council” and look forward to when I can read your books. I have such a huge queue with my reviews, I haven’t had a chance to read any of my pleasure reading books. I think in order for me to do that, I am going to have to read one from each category, or I may never be able to get to them! 🙂

  2. I have a feeling that I am going to love your world..I look forward to it! 🙂

Join the Conversation

