Why I Love My Creative Writing Blog

staring.... staring.... staring.... no words.... THE LIFE OF A BLOGGER

staring…. staring…. staring…. no words…. THE LIFE OF A BLOGGER

As my regular visitors know, I blog daily. I don’t have to blog that often–I know many successful, insightful blogger who don’t–but I’ve maintained that breakneck pace on the blog for a number of reasons. I wanted to examine those, and THANK YOU ALL for the support, advice, and commiseration you’ve given me since last April with your 16, 750+ views!

I have a lot of things on my plate. I’m looking for a full-time job, I’m working on writing and marketing my own fiction, I have some editing and translation that I’ve picked up freelance, and still I push myself to publishing a blog post every day. And sometimes, it’s brutal. Sometime I have no time, or I have no idea of something new I can write about here. But I keep blogging because:

  • I have learned so much from your comments. From tricks of the writing trade to marketing tips, you guys help me out more than I can say as I try to establish my literary career. I have learned about websites and resources I never knew existed. I don’t say thanks enough, and truly, I could not be more grateful.
  • It’s helpful to know I’m not the only one who doubts myself. I have a self-esteem problem, and I know I have a self-esteem problem. It helps me so much when I rant a bit about how difficult writing is and how much a scene is tearing me apart, and you guys respond knowing exactly what I’m dealing with, because you’re going through it too. The fact that’s writing hard doesn’t mean I can’t write. The fact that somedays I just don’t want to touch the keyboard doesn’t mean I can’t write. Well, we remind each other of that here, and it really helps boost my confidence.
  • Writing these posts helps develop my skills. Writing about writing forces me to examine the way I do things where my fiction is concerned. It helps me identify what I do well and where I can improve. It makes me strategize solutions, confront problems, and set goals for myself. This is a major reason I make myself blog daily. I’ve reaped a lot of profit from this self-examination.
  • Maybe eventually I can sell advertising. This is low on the list, for sure, but it’s something I think about. If my blog becomes popular enough and I start to average enough hits to justify it (right now I get 70 a day on average), selling advertising for a bit of extra income is a possibility. That’s definitely not a bad thing.

So, for those of you who are bloggers: why do you blog? what do you love and hate about it? I think everyone who blogs must have a love/hate relationship with their site…. Let me know if I’m spot on or totally wrong in that assumption. Would love to hear your approaches to blogging!

27 responses to “Why I Love My Creative Writing Blog

  1. I have to tell you that I really admire you for blogging every day! Since I have a review blog, I think my biggest problem with it is that I blog so sporadically. It depends on when I am finished with a book. Another mistake I made is overwhelming myself with so many reviews in my queue that it was interfering with my own writing. That’s when I finally put on the brakes. I stopped taking any new requests, but not soon enough. I still have 93 in queue. I am trying to get through them, and there are a lot of great stories, but I can only do so much in a 24 hour day. I am doing this full-time too, so my hat is off to you and all others who write in addition to full time jobs! Ok, I know you are still looking right now, but that in itself is a full-time endeavor! My practical roommate came up with a great idea. She said, “You know, the name of your blog is Becky’s Book Notes. You are the only one limiting yourself to only doing reviews. You could write about your writing progress, things you’ve learned in your reading about writing, etc.” This could also be the bridge that would set my platform as an author as well as a reviewer. The big plus too, would be that I would be blogging at a more regular interval. I am trying to get more readers on my blog. Most all of my followers now are also authors or freelance writers. Do you have any pointers on how I can draw readers to the blog? I am asking it anyone knows of a book they can recommend to let us know in the comments. This could be any book, to get a discussion going about books. The problem is, I see that culminating into my writer followers in self-promoting. Not that I mind the mention for them, but I can see that getting out of hand..Or maybe I am borrowing trouble that doesn’t exist. Right now it seems like no one comments. Someone told me that they commented, but it didn’t register, either on the comments or in the spam. So, I’m not sure what happened there. So, any advice on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

    • your roommate is very right, Becky. You could do whatever you want with your blog πŸ™‚ and it is so true that 24 hours in a day just aren’t enough! Not nearly enough. Prioritizing isn’t easy, but it can be worth it.

  2. Hi Victoria,
    This is a nice topic you have written about & here are my views on it :

    I blog because, I like putting my thoughts in words , I like people giving their opinions on them. I mostly write about how I think of people, circumstances & world around us…what I interpret of it…& what my approach is… And I am not perfect and so is with my thoughts..Infact, for most of things we cannot just define a boundary line of right & wrong, it is more about what pleases you and your conscious. So, when I pour my feelings here on blogs, I get different views, different ideas which at times changes my outlook and at times it helps me justify that I am on a right path.

    And about next question— Well , I really love this site
    It provides me a platform to share my ideas across the world…to break the boundaries of those known to me… to spread my words…without any limits… It just feels great to be here πŸ™‚

    • thanks for commenting. I’m glad you like the site. And I agree that it’s so fun and useful to share our opinions and thoughts with others! It opens the doors of communication. That’s a great reason to enter the exploratory world that is blogging, I’d say.

  3. Blogging does provide a great platform for honing one’s writing skills and that’s what I’ve been working at over the last year. The unexpected consequence of “going public” is that bloggers are a great community. I’ve “met” so many people this way. In addition, reading different perspectives and writing styles is very inspiring. It has pushed me to write prolifically offline as well.
    I enjoy your blog as a writer. I like that you share your own process, struggles and victories. I’m light years away from publishing still, but it’s nice to have a view from the other side. Thanks!

    • Thanks for the kind words! Blogging is definitely a wonderful way to develop, hone, and maintain writing skills. I hadn’t really considered that in my post…. Thanks for bringing that up! It’s a very real benefit to blogging, isn’t it?

      • yup…blogging really helps to enhance writing skills… what we write, how we write.. we get to know so much by other bloggers commenting & liking… Also, getting the feedback from bloggers, puts an authentication that I am getting opinions from those who themselves belong to this world of words.. & not a lay-man…who can not always really understand the depth of what is written. And above all, continuous writing boosts up the energy & enthusiasm to write more…to be in flow..

        • yes indeed! it’s always important to connect with people who understand the depth of literature, like you say. πŸ™‚ their feedback and advice is so valuable! Authentic was a word to use to describe that. It makes our work authentic.

  4. I blog because . . . sometimes there are just things I want to say, and I have no one to say them to. It’s like a journal, but a very public journal, not the kind you stuff under your mattress and hope no one every finds. πŸ˜‰ And I blog to hopefully build a readership and following who will want to know what I’m up to.

    • haha! I agree, not all but a number of my blog posts are like journals of my writing progress for the day and how I feel about the way things went. Blogging is good for that, for sure. A public journal…. that’s a fantastic description of what a blog becomes.

  5. I am fairly new to blogging, though not new to writing – so why is blogging and fiction writing so different? They shouldn’t be polar opposites; they are both forms of expression, of putting thoughts on to paper (or, in our case, cyberspace!). Personally I am the happiest when creating a new story. Writing about the writing process is not nearly as much fun, but still enjoyable. I know that the blogging process will become more and more exciting for me as my books roll out. Sure, I could talk about the weather or what I did on the weekend, but who would want to read it? As I write paranormal fiction, I probably will stick to that particular weird subject. Make it fun, is what I say, Victoria!

    • I agree! Make it fun. It never ceases to amaze me either how different creative writing and blogging are. What’s good about that is that one can provide a break from the other πŸ™‚

  6. Good questions! I admire you for blogging every day. I try, because I know that if I’m trying for every day, I’ll probably get 2-3 a week. πŸ˜€ (I actually have 3 blogs, but still I don’t write on one or the other every day…) On my writing blog I write about what I’ve learned and am learning about writing. I do it mostly because I like to teach, I think, and as a homeschool mom what I’ve learned about teaching is that the most effective way is to share your own experiences, good and bad. You can’t always save others from making mistakes or getting frustrated, but advice can certainly help others navigate more clearly.

    • it’s always wonderful to learn from the experiences of others! Wow, Jennings, I didn’t know you keep tabs on 3 blogs. That’s really admirable! I can’t handle one I feel most days πŸ™‚

      • The other two get a lot less attention. One is about my non-profit, and since most of what happens there happens when I’m in Uganda, that one’s sporadic and I only post when there’s actual news. (I leave for Uganda 2/15, so it’ll be busy for awhile!) The other is more personal musings about family, getting older, cooking, stuff like that. That’s the one I’m most sporadic about, because it’s more personal. πŸ˜›

  7. Pingback: Blogging is writing, too « Write, damn it.

  8. Thanks Victoria,
    You are a bit like me. I have been getting so busy trying to learn this trade and craft. I too am looking for full time work. Every day I think I have to push myself harder so I can master the craft and do the best I can to get my platform broadened so I can find a niche or target audience. I question the direction I have gone in or the blog topics or the audience I think I am targeting… I get too busy sometimes that I can’t work on my stories, and I only have time to blog. Sometimes I just spend time on social sites just to keep my name out there.
    Other times I tell myself I need a break and watch a little T.V. and go to bed.
    The next day I think I should have written something.
    Sometimes I think I have taken on too much, but then I realize I gotta keep at it.
    Self-esteem problem; hah! I have that perfected. It pounds on me daily and it is a bear and a gorilla that has to be put in it’s place in order just to get to things.
    Keep on pounding away at the keys Victoria, and I will too. Thanks for the encouragement.

  9. Pingback: Another Day, Another Post About Crap | melanie's blog

  10. Pingback: Social Media Promotion: How I reached 20,000 blog hits | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  11. Pingback: Bloggers, Authors, Wordsmiths: Should you blog daily? | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  12. Pingback: When is enough content enough? (The Blog Edition) | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  13. Pingback: Being an Author who Blogs…. The Biggest Minor Inconveniences | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  14. Pingback: On Fiction and Blogs: The Biggest Way Blogging Has Helped Me As An Author | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Join the Conversation

