Ten Reasons to Write Fiction: Part 2

1148655_vintage_fountain_pen_3So, why exactly do we crazy novelists write again???

Following on yesterday’s post, here are reasons 6-10 to write a novel or craft short stories. I firmly believe that you have to write for you, and all of these motives to be an author take YOU and your needs in account. So don’t ever let anyone tell you you’re wasting time writing, or that it’s purposeless. It’s definitely not. Maybe you write because:

  1. YOU LOVE THE CHALLENGE. Like I said above, writing a novel is a genuine accomplishment. Well, it couldn’t be if it were easy! I don’t really like physical challenges, but the creative challenge of a novel really draws me in, pumps me up, and gives me something meaningful to conquer.
  2. YOU LOVE THE ADVENTURE. I’ve written an entire post about writing as adventure, and living vicariously through my characters. Well, the adventure is more than that. Not knowing what will happen, and where things will go: it makes me truly invested in the characters. I write as a pantser, and that pretty much makes me the first reader of my novels.
  3. YOU NEED THE THERAPY. Another post I’ve written. Crafting fiction is a wonderful way to confront the challenges, insecurities, and illnesses that weight us down, so that we can find the confidence to confront them in real life. (And, on somewhat different note, I hear from crime fiction writers that it can be quite therapeutic to base a murder victim on that coworker whom you just. can’t. stand. So I guess it can help you avoid that bad kind of confrontation as well: you know, the one that lands you behind bars.)
  4. YOU NEED TO CREATE. Fiction is art. No doubt about it. And the capacity to create and appreciate art is one of the things that defines us as human beings. We all, in some form or other, are driven to create. Some design buildings or clothing or decorate houses. Some are painters or sculptors. Some are inventors and build things. Me, I’ve never been able to make anything with my hands. I’m not visually creative that way. Where I can create is through words.
  5. YOU DON’T WANT TO BE BORED. Maybe this is odd, but my characters are totally like real people to me, and they’re kind of always with me, in my head. When I’m bored, I get to contemplating them and their problems and what they might do next. I try to solve their problems so that I can finish the novel that I have no clue how to end….
10 responses to “Ten Reasons to Write Fiction: Part 2

  1. Where’s the box for ‘all of the above’? 🙂

  2. catherinelumb

    #5 – I don’t think I’m ever really bored now…I can lose hours of my time just wondering what my characters might get up to! Not very productive when you’re supposed to be cleaning the house or making dinner, but a LOT more fun (IMHO)!
    Great post, again! x

  3. #You need the therapy. I can definitely identify with that one, for one particular story I wrote a few years ago. I took an upsetting experience from my childhood, one that had stayed with me over the years but I had never discussed with anyone, and wove it into a fictional short story.
    Wow, did I feel much better after that. I posted it online and got some real good comments back and, yes, I was able to discuss the factual origins of the story with those people.
    Thank you again for your list. Very interesting. 😉

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! And I think it’s wonderful you were able to use writing to come to grips with some nasty stuff from the past. That’s really wonderful, Ken. thanks for sharing your experience!

  4. You are so right – I have a deep desire to create art whether that is writing or drawing. I feel like the day is wasted if I didn’t create something whether that is a new story idea, new character interaction, edits, whatever

  5. Pingback: Writing is it an Art Or a Craft? Acting is it an Art or a Craft? | seventhvoice

  6. Pingback: A Reminder of the Reason We Write Fiction | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Join the Conversation

