Bloggers, Authors, Wordsmiths: Should you blog daily?

Blogging daily starts you off with a new, fresh slate every morning. A blank card just for you. The freedom of being able to express anything I need to on that "card" is magical!

Blogging daily starts you off with a new, fresh slate every morning. A blank card just for you. The freedom of being able to express anything I need to on that “card” is magical!

I love this blog. I love blogging. And I make a point–or at least, I have since late  July 2012–of putting up a new post daily, one related to creative writing and marketing creative writing through social media / the blogosphere.

As an author, I know any amount of practice connecting words into sentences, and sentences into paragraphs, is worthwhile practice. It’s training and maintenance work, so it’s never a waste of time. Blogging has the benefit of giving me that practice while also connecting me with other people and drawing attention to my work.

I’ve written a post about everything this blog and its followers have given me, so I won’t go into that again. But I have been considering of late why I chose to blog daily, and why I continue to do so.

Having a new post every day can be difficult and time-consuming, not to mention mentally exhausting. I blog daily because for me, it makes sense. That doesn’t mean putting up a new post each and every day is right for everyone.

People always say you should blog regularly, and I agree with that. It’s important to have people coming back for your content on a regular basis, because they know there’s going to be something there.

Blogging regularly can mean twice a week, once a week, even biweekly or monthly. It all depends on you and your purposes for blogging.

So, is a daily post right for you and your blog?

It might be if:

  • You have the time to blog daily. Jobs and familial obligations matter. Health matters. These things take precedence. Some people’s lives  don’t afford them the time to blog daily, and if that’s you, that’s all right. We all have to do what we can with what we have. Remember,  a daily post is not required to build a large and faithful following and to have success. All you need is regular content that will engage and entertain your target audience.
  • You love helping people. Each post you write on a professional blog should aim to answer questions your target audience has, or provide them some kind of support: whether that be through tips on how-to do something, a cautionary tale wrought of experience, or simple emotional support, letting them know they’re not alone. The more frequently you blog, the more support you can provide. This should be a major motivational factor for you if you want to blog daily.
  • You have monetized your blog, or have plans to do so. (Or, I guess, you’re independently wealthy and blogging is a hobby.) Blogging daily is a huge time commitment. It’s definitely enough of one that you should have some plan to turn the time and energy you’re investing in your blog into income. In my case, I‘m writing a writer’s handbook based upon this blog’s content and plan to use my blog as a major component of that’s book marketing strategy.
  • Growing your audience as quickly as possible matters to you. Each post you write is a chance to attract new followers and further engage the ones you have. Each new post gives you new, useful content to market on social media. It gives your current followers new material to share, which will also bring you new followers. Publishing daily gives my blog’s reach momentum as it continues to expand. When I considered cutting back on how frequently I release my posts, one reason I decided not to was that I didn’t want to break my momentum. I wanted to keep building steam. Keep building steam and you just might start growing exponentially.
  • You love a creative challenge. It’s not easy to come up with an engaging concept for a post each day, but trying sure does get the creative juices flowing and exercise the mind! The mental exercise I get from blogging about creative writing has positive effects on my fiction. That makes it worth sacrificing some time I could otherwise devote to that fiction.
  • You thrive on routine. Being a creature of habit, like me, is great for blogging daily. You work blogging time into your daily schedule, and you’re good to go! That’s not to say you can’t blog daily without a routine. Still, setting aside a set time to blog each day can afford the organization and the structure you need to turn your intentions into results.

If you have a blog, how frequently do you post? Have you experimented with cutting back or publishing more frequently? What were your results?

If you’re new here and enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email. You can sign up, if interested, at the top right of the page.

34 responses to “Bloggers, Authors, Wordsmiths: Should you blog daily?

  1. Sometimes writing blog posts cuts into the time you’ve set aside for your creative writing, like working on your next novel. You have to balance things = growing your audience along with preparing to give them your next book. And if you also blog for other sites, that sometimes takes priority. The most important thing is to blog regularly, or no one will visit!

  2. I love the challenge I’ve given myself to write a blog post everyday. For me, it’s about getting a regular practice of writing and discovering new ways to say things and to think about things. I think its a good way to embrace the fact that not everything that you write is amazing and some things you write, will not be as good. 🙂

    • that’s true!!! and that’s important to know. I know that as an author first drafts are always weak and some scenes end up weaker than others. that’s something to accept and be okay with…. I never considered how blogging can help me be okay with that 🙂

  3. catherinelumb

    I blog three times a week, and while I enjoy that people read my posts and find useful tidbits within them, I suppose I primarily write for myself. I blog to demonstrate to readers that being a ‘writer’ isn’t easy, that it takes perseverence and determination and a commitment that can often be taken for granted. For me, the blog is a means to keep me on task – I have people to answer to if I don’t acheive my writing goals set for the week, or have good reasons why I didn’t!

    I don’t feel I’ve reached a level yet where I can actively promote my own advice for others – I just record what it is I’m doing in the hopes that it might help someone else…But I do enjoy doing it: I always feel proud of my contributions and it feels uplifting when you discover that others are reading from across the world – it makes it seem all the more worthwhile to know that someone is reading your writing…

    I don’t have the time/inclination to blog daily: but am glad that you do! It gives me something to look forward to everyday! lol!

    • Glad you enjoy the blog, Cat! And I love your healthy approach to blogging here. You’re so right in blogging for you!!! Considering I’m titling my writer’s handbook “Writing for You,” I’m a big fan of that motive, hahaha! 🙂

      Keep it up. I’ve enjoyed the posts I’ve found on your site, for sure. It’s always useful to see how another writer goes about the craft. Like you said, you can learn things from their approach.

      • catherinelumb

        Thanks Victoria! I’m pleased you’ve enjoyed the blog posts – it’s very therapeutic to write a blog: it lets me reflect on my writing time and gives me an outlet for dwindling confidence occasionally!

        What on earth did we do without blogs to keep us informed?! lol!

  4. I have been blogging for a couple of years on my other sites but not with regularity. When I launched my new site in January I decided to take a 30 day blog challenge. I have been blogging daily ever since. You are so right that blogging takes time. The goal for me isn’t just to blog daily but to provided valuable content for my readers. I read last year that you should view your blog as book content so I’ve kept that in mind as I write each post. What I have learned about daily blogging, the ins and outs has made me start to write a book about it.. Each of us has our own unique perspective on the topic. My other goal for blogging is to build a community. I look forward to opening my email and seeing that others have commented. That’s what it’s all about. The comments don’t have to be long. Just comment. It shows support. Will I keep posting daily? That’s my goal at this point. I wouldn’t have virtually met you and many others if it wasn’t for blogging. I’m happy to have found these new friendships:)

    • I feel the same way! And I like what you say here about commenting. I try to leave a short, thoughtful reaction to a blog post when I have one. I don’t comment just for the sake of commenting, but I do like to say something when I have something to say. Like you said, it shows support.

  5. I try to post daily, to promote new (to me) authors, also. I try to have at least one weeks supply of Draft posts, for those times when there are not enough hours or minutes in the day 🙂

  6. I blog a couple times a day because I’m home all day. I have the time and I made a blogging schedule for myself. I have certain things that I blog every day and the rest is all reblogs or something that comes to me. I’m on my laptop from 6:30am to the time I go to bed. Yes, I take breaks, but I’m typing away on my books, so the blog is right there when I need it.

  7. I schedule in a blog every 3/4 days, then post in between should I want to. It’s important to me not to force myself to write if I don’t feel spark to. Not good for me or my readers!

  8. Victoria – A few years ago I blogged daily. Then I did a little experiment to see what would happen if I applied the age-old marketing technique: “People want what they can’t have” and cut it back to one day per week – Tuesdays (hence, “Tuesdays with Laurie”). That’s when the “views” and “likes” started doubling, tripling, and quadrupling. For me, “less is more” – my subscribers look forward to a brief weekly post with a supporting photograph that I’ve personally taken.

    • WOW, thanks for your input and expertise, Laurie!!! I had never considered it that way. That’s definitely a powerful fact you’re mentioning here and something everyone should think about. Appreciate it much!!! And your support as well. 🙂

  9. Great post. I have wondered about this many times. I wonder when it becomes too much. I tend to get lazy and then pile up posts all in one day. I hope I don’t send the followers running in terror lol

    • I do just one a day, for just that reason: I’m scared of doing too much. On occasion I’ll post a second, short, notice-type post that’s not one of my usual “how-to” posts. It all depends on you and your style, though. If you’re not having trouble keeping or growing followers, I’d say you’re fine.

      You might want to schedule things, though. It’s easy to enough to schedule a post to go live at a later date. You don’t have to publish posts right when you’re writing them when you get in your grove. Unless you want to. Reblogs are different, though, I’d guess.

    • I tend to do the same. I know I can schedule a post for later, but once I’ve perfected it, I find it really difficult to schedule it instead of just publishing it. It would probably be wiser of me to schedule posts to keep them from bunching together. Well, knowing is at least half the battle. 🙂

  10. Cate Russell-Cole

    Victoria, it’s good to see a balanced point of view on this. I see too many writers work all day, rush home and care for family and then sit up until insane o’clock to write – because SEO says you have to, or someone has guilt tripped them into it. Inevitably, they burn out fast.

    Do what suits you and is realistic is the best approach.

    Cheers.

    • Cheers! I have to say I LOVE that turn of phrase… insane o’clock. I don’t know if I’ve heard that before 🙂

      • Cate Russell-Cole

        That one came to me one night when I got out of bed to do a little work… then realised 11pm had become 3am! No other way to describe it. 🙂

  11. That depends on how I feel. This week I have been sick, and blogging was the only thing I felt up to, so I’ve posted several times this week; but a couple of times per week is more typical. Since I usually post less frequently, this week I probably fed my followers more than they were expecting to digest. 🙂

  12. Congrats on blogging daily and building a great readership. The idea of that is a bit daunting for me and I blog on average three times per week. I have a schedule of the type of posts I write as well eg. Monday’s are about mental health, Wednesday’s are about writing and Friday’s are Parenting/Mummy posts. I am also working on a novel, so I think posting more frequently would take up too much time. Great post, thanks.

    • Sounds like you have a fantastic system going. I still consider regularly cutting back, because I’ve other stuff to do. We’ll see how long I can keep the daily posts up, haha!

  13. For the first couple of months I blogged daily. It almost killed me. I’m now comfortably on an every three days or so routine. I can get crazier in the summer since I’m a teacher. But… since I write on primarily paranormal topics, the fall will always be when people are really looking for my content. I worked really hard keeping up this last fall. 🙂

    • Makes sense to write more when your topic is timely for Halloween!!! 😛 Glad you’ve found a groove that works for you. I think all bloggers struggle with that initially.

  14. I’m lucky to write and publish one original post a week! Since relaunching my blog in February, I’ve been surprised at how exponentially the blogosphere has grown since I was offline for a few years. The upside is I gained a slew of new friends; the downside is I do get overwhelmed when some bloggers I follow post a few times in a day. As a reader, I can’t keep up with reading and liking and commenting on all of their posts. And I want to support my fellow bloggers so I do make a sincere effort (especially since I really want to read their blogs). As a blogger, I hope eventually to have a schedule where I would publish two original posts a week and one “reblog of the week.” I love to reblog, frankly, because some posts, like this one, should be shared 🙂

    • Kudos to you for getting back. Blogging once a week is fantastic. I too get overwhelmed by people who blog multiple times a day. I very, very rarely do that (and of course, when I blog daily, I don’t expect everyone to drop by and read every single post.)

      These last two days have been a bit hectic, because I’m running a release and a giveaway on top of my normal blogging platform. But I’m limiting things to one post and one reblog from my personal site each day. That’s it.

  15. Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:
    This post by Victoria is from earlier this month, but do read and also read the comments. There’s a good discussion on how often bloggers should/should not post and why.

  16. I blog once (and sometimes twice a week). I’m fairly new to blogging, but not to writing. I was lucky enough to meet E.B. White in my early twenties and he was such an inspiration to me to continue my writing. (Of course I wrote about that in one of my blog posts, The True Story of how I Met E.B. White | Part One and Two, if you’d like to take a look.)

    Like everyone else, I have limited time and find it hard to keep up with a huge number of blogs, but if the blogs are informative or entertaining, I’ll find a moment during my busy day to read them.

    Kudos for blogging everyday and building a great readership!

    • thanks! and thanks for your feedback…. you’re are very right in that you can be successful blogging once or twice a week. Lots of people are. Soon, I might have to cut down on how frequently I blog but for now, I’m trying to keep up once a day as long as possible.

  17. Pingback: Bloggers: Send Out the Call! (How to add a successful call to action to your posts) | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Join the Conversation

