Being an Author who Blogs…. The Biggest Minor Inconveniences

812896_grumpy_girl_Don’t get me wrong: I love being an author. I love writing fiction, and I love writing in general. That includes my blog. I love blogging about writing fiction as much as any other aspect of being an indie author.

(I can prove it, too. Check out all these reasons I love my creative writing blog.)

However: there are certain minor inconveniences of being an author-blogger that get under my skin sometimes. I’ve written before about the biggest minor inconveniences of being an indie author. Today, it’s all about the pet peeves of running a blog as an indie author. 🙂

  • Do I work on the blog, or my novel? Blog or novel? I really should pick one. Like, pick one now. Before I waste another ten minutes trying to pick one.
  • I want to work on the fiction, but need a blog post. Sometimes I’m just in the mood to get crackin’ on my fantasy, but life intervenes. And by “life,” I mean marketing obligations for the books I’ve already released. Which means the blog.
  • Spam comments. I have been getting spam comments lately about cars. Spam comments selling cars. Because you guys are so likely to buy a car off a spam comment on a creative writing blog, right?
What could possibly go wrong?

What could possibly go wrong?

  • The approaching deadline. It’s 6pm and I need a post for midnight. No problem. Or, it wouldn’t be a problem, if I had the slightest idea what to write about.
  • I could write about…. Oh wait, I’ve done that one. But hey, I could approach it from this angle…. Oh, no, I’ve done that too. Why do I blog daily? Good heavens, why am I such a sucker for blogging daily????
  • You want to write about your books, but in a big way, you can’t. Why? Spoilers. The spoilers will get you every time.

This is the biggest annoyance as being an author-blogger, for sure. I remember how stunned and then ecstatic I was when I heard Anne Hathaway had been cast as Fantine in Les Misérables. Why?

I had always considered her the perfect Laskenay, a character in my fantasy trilogy, and I based Laskenay in large part on my favorite aspects of Fantine. Not joking. My thought about that casting was “You have got to be kidding me!”

Of course, I couldn’t write about that too much on the blog. I would have loved to craft a post on the subject, but for the explanation to have enough depth to carry a post, I would have had to explain the links between Fantine and Laskenay, and that would have given away far too much.

The dang spoilers. They get you every time.

So, have you had to scrap an idea for a great post because of spoilers you couldn’t get around? Why do you love, and hate, about being an author who blogs (if you do blog?)

If you enjoyed this post, I invite you to check out the other posts in the “funny lists” category: you’ll crack a smile or too.

Also, don’t forget to follow the blog by email (top right of the page) if you’d like notifications about new posts.

49 responses to “Being an Author who Blogs…. The Biggest Minor Inconveniences

  1. I had this same fight today…book or blog! Last week I made a decision that I wouldonly blog Monday through Friday and leave weekends off. That helped the battle a little…ask me again in a few weeks to see if it really works:-)

    • you know, I’ve considered that same thing: take weekends off. For some reason I just don’t want to break my momentum until it breaks me through burnout. Probably not the smartest approach on my part, but we’ll see. I figure I’ll back off in some form or fashion relatively soon.

  2. Wow, this was like reading a running commentary of my own daily thoughts. Unfortunate as it is that I can relate, it’s good to know I’m not alone!

  3. When you have limited time, it’s so hard to choose which to work on — book or blog?

    Also, maybe your car spammers have made a vehicle specifically for writers. I wonder what that might involve…

  4. You are so right Victoria. Sometimes it’s so difficult to manage novel writing and blog writing at the same time. I love writing but all that you have mentioned so nicely in your post happens to me as we’ll. I love the topic of your post and the photos are too cute. Again I learned something crucial from your post-I am not the only one who faces this problem but accomplished writers like yourself face them sometimes too. Thanks for sharing a lovely post.

    • I’m so glad it was helpful and encouraging for you!!! It’s so true…. it can be difficult for sure, trying to make time for everything and feel like you’re giving everything its due.

  5. Why do you HAVE TO blog daily? Why not make it every other day? Or whenever you think of something relevant (not saying your posts aren’t relevant, btw). In my book, writing the fiction takes priority – probably why I have so few blog readers. Heh.

    • the fiction should take priority but I’m BLOCKED completely with fiction right now and trying to raise awareness of my upcoming writer’s handbook. The blog is really tightly connected with that release, so I’m continuing to blog every day (for the moment) as a marketing tool, if that makes sense.

      I’ve definitely considered backing off from blogging everyday, and I probably will do so at some point in the relatively not too far future.

      • Okay, I get that. It’s a very good “have to.” I wish I had my own marketing team, because I stink at selling myself, but it’s going to get to a point where I’ll have to do exactly what you’re doing now and I’m not looking forward to it.

        • it has its tough days, for sure. Right now I have the time, at least. But I really, really need a job and am hoping I find one soon. When that happens there’s no way I’ll be able to keep blogging daily.

  6. Oh I agree with all of these! Most especially being torn between writing the blog or working on my story! The blog is more urgent, the story is more important. Back and forth I go!

    As for spam, I finally gave in and installed askimet. It really works! So happy, because I was getting so much spam trying to advertise bags and shoes. No idea why!

    I’ve nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger award, so if you get a chance, come and check it out.

    Rinelle Grey

  7. My novel has been incredibly neglected of late. I’m doing a dry run for NaNoWriMo today, and seeing if I can hit 1,700 words in a day which is about what I’ll need to complete the challenge. Which means I probably shouldn’t be on here.

  8. The ‘I could write about’ one gets me every day. Especially because I try to make my big Wednesday post about an aspect of writing. I keep forgetting what I wrote since I’ve done one of those every week since December. Gets a little maddening.

  9. The self-help authors have it so much easier in that respect. As a fiction writer, I often struggle for a topic. I have heard the best bloggers have a weekly topic schedule, but I’m not committing to that yet. I work full-time and there’s just not enough hours in the day.

    • I’m unemployed right now and praying praying praying I will find something soon. Even with all the time I have, I’ve never made a schedule. I prefer to find a topic that’s inspiring and relevant to me at the moment, not force myself to accommodate a preset schedule. I’ve heard schedules work amazingly well, though, for those who can use them. Thanks, Lily!!! That’s a fabulous point.

  10. awriterweavesatale

    I use askimet which is supposed to catch all spam and I never had a problem until a couple of months ago. Now daily I have to delete spam on very old posts; there’s always one post that gets targeted. And it’s just the worst written damn spam that as a writer my instinct is to edit it!

  11. Reblogged this on Being an Author and commented:
    As an author, you will need a social media platform.

  12. Pingback: Being an Author who Blogs…. The Biggest Minor Inconveniences | A Quarter Bubble Short of Plumb

  13. Just found this blog. Brilliant – and so true! I write too, and I have just the same problem. For example, what am I doing, writing this when I should be working on my next novel?

  14. Every day? Wow, I’m lucky to post once a week – I don’t know how you do it.

    • It’s tough. Lots of time and dedication. I’m unemployed right now searching for jobs, so it can be a stress relief and a break from job hunting. Once I find a job I don’t imagine I can keep publishing every day.

  15. I completely sympathize here. I’d say that fiction takes priority. Blogging is fun, but could you call it a calling?

    • it depends, I guess??? If you have books out and what you’re blogging is really helping you sell them it can be part of the writer’s calling??? Maybe? That’s an excellent question/point. Wow, really gets me thinking!

  16. I’m so glad the blog won and you wrote this post 🙂 It’s so reassuring to know I’m not alone. Blogging is important to me: it’s still writing so even if I’m not working on my novel, my essay, whatever else is in my head, I’m still writing. But I know I also use it to procrastinate, to avoid going back to my novel, my essay, my whatever. I work full-time so I do more “reblogs” than original blog posts. Still, it takes time to find and read other blogs that I then decide to reblog. I’ve signed up for July CampNaNoWriMo because I know that that sort of pressure is what I need to get my priorities in order. It’s sad, but the more time I have, the more I seem to procrastinate 😉 Like you say, once you get a job, then you’ll have to prioritize your time and, in a weird sort of way, that might make these type of decisions easier for you. Also, keep in mind you have a loyal following. Whether you post once a day or once a week, we’ll all still be here for you 🙂

    • thanks so much for the support!!! 🙂 your blog is definitely one I find myself coming back to; blogging is definitely worth it, because as you say, it’s still writing.

      and best of luck with Camp NaNoWrimo!!! hope you come out with a better quality product than I did last November…. eek. I don’t think I can ever do NaNo again. I wrote fast but it’s all swill.

  17. For topics to write about on your blog, you could occasionally write about some of the aspects of your fictional world that didn’t make it into the trilogy. Then you’re not writing spoilers, but something that fans of your fiction will love reading, even people who are not writers. If the idea of this blog is to help you market your work, why limit your target audience to writers? In fact, if you blog about your fictional world while avoiding spoilers, you might even draw in some visitors who haven’t yet read any of your novels but are interested in fantasy fiction. Once they learn something about your world, that might draw them to read the novels. In fact, you could post short fiction pieces on your blog. That could really help to draw in both readers and writers.

    If someone likes your fiction writing style, they’re more likely to pay for a book written by you on the topic of writing. So posting short fiction might help to sell your non-fiction book for writers. Sure, they could read your novels, but reading a novel can be a big time investment, and someone might well postpone starting to read a novel until they have finished reading whatever other novel they are currently reading, or put your novel on a to-read list that is already twenty books deep. On the other hand, reading a short fiction piece isn’t so likely to be postponed. It’s short enough to read now.

    As for blogging every day, I admire you for your ability to do it for as long as you have. I tried it for a while on my music blog and it didn’t work for me. I managed to finish my goal of writing 110 posts on the artists I had listened to the most over a four-year period, trying to say something meaningful about each one. I didn’t have to worry about the topic for any day’s post; I had a list of the 110 artists and I was working my way down the list, so my next day’s topic was predetermined well in advance. Yet by the time I wrote the post about my #1 artist, I was ready to retire from blogging altogether. Now I blog whenever the mood strikes me, though I try to blog at least once a month (otherwise there’s not much point in blogging). I just got sooooooo burned out on blogging from that streak of 110 posts. If you feel that you’re starting to burn out on blogging, it might not hurt to change your pace now to something less stressful but still more often than what it might become if you get truly burned out.

    As for job hunting, I suspect you’re looking for a full-time gig, but in the meantime, why not offer your professional services to other writers? You have skills that other writers would pay for you to put to use for them. Some of us don’t have the luxury of time that you do right now, and would pay you to use some of your time to help us out.

    Are you doing any freelance (paid) editing or beta-reading for other authors until you find a more permanent gig? If so, do you have your prices listed online? I’d be interested in seeing them.

    Another idea you might pursue if you have the contacts is to offer to hook up writers with freelance editors and beta-readers for a finder’s fee, especially if you can personally recommend and vouch for some good editors and beta-readers. It’s not always easy to know who to trust when it comes to hiring other people, especially online. It’s just a thought. I’m sure you can think of other services you might offer to aspiring writers.

    Okay, this post is long enough. I should go work on editing my novel or writing a blog post of my own. 🙂

    • thanks so much, Michael!!! Those are some awesome suggestions, for sure!!! I definitely need to think about making one day a week Herezoth day…. how fabulous!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I have been doing some freelance work, but it’s mainly translation work and I’m too booked to take on more, though I’d love to in an ideal world. I’m really putting as much time as I can into searching for a full-time gig.

      thank again. I really appreciate how much time and thought you put into those suggestions 🙂

  18. Pingback: Balancing The Writer’s Life | Notes from An Alien

  19. Pingback: Why Authors Should Be “Selfish” Bloggers: And How To Be One | Creative Writing with the Crimson League

  20. It’s nice to read something “simple” like the nuances of blogging, rather than a “how-to” I’m so used to reading.

    I’ve been blogging for a while but recently decided to become a “serious” writer. Since then I created a blog to support the book side of things as well as continuing my fitness blog. Like you, I find it hard to separate time for writing on my blogs from writing on my books. They’re like children, I love them both equally; it’s impossible to chose.

    Given the 3 distinct writing projects, I have I opted not to blog every day, God bless you for being able to do it. As of now I blog at least once a week on my sites and have schedule setup for social media and book writing times. I find that if I don’t stick to this schedule I get thrown into chaos, not knowing which step to take next.

    Good luck to you! I’m sure you’ll continue to have lasting success by the simple fact that you love what you do.

    Cheers!

    • thanks so much for dropping by and for your support. Wishing you all the best. I think it’s awesome you run multiple blog about different topics…. definitely shows you’re well-rounded and have a wide knowledge base, always helpful for any writer 🙂

      I really need to hash out my own schedule, and probably cut back on my blogging (if I’m honest with myself. Trying to avoid doing that)

      • Thanks! Running multiple blogs can be difficult because I often feel that Body for Tomorrow detracts from David Grenier Books. I’m on the fence on if I should let it go but it’s a hard decision to make quite honestly.

        Most of the time it takes me 3-5 hours to make one post, depending on how long it takes for me to find or create a picture. I know that’s a long time for one article but that’s how I like to do it so streamlining the process is what I’m focusing on now.

        Good luck with your schedule! You’ll be fine, I’m sure.

        • Thanks! Same to you!!! Streamlining is a great focus point for you. I’d definitely try it before giving up one of your blogs. I definitely get why you would want to keep them both going!

Join the Conversation

