The process of writing a blog post (from a timey-wimey perspective)

Screen Shot 2013-08-11 at 8.24.50 AMThe life of a blogger is never done! Blogging is a unique and rewarding hobby (or career for some), and I definitely enjoy it as a hobby.Mostly I enjoy it when reflecting upon posts that I’ve already written, because actually writing a good blog post can be pretty tough.

I’ve noticed that writing a blog post follows–more or less–a rather interesting pattern. I’m sure some of my fellow bloggers can relate! πŸ™‚

  1. THE DETERMINATION PHASE. Thirty minutes, let’s do this thing! I am on fire today and have lots of other stuff to do. I can knock this post out in half an hour or less….
  2. THE SLOW START. I can definitely write this in half an hour. I just need something to write about. So, what’s on my mind? Grief, dang it. I’m still not over how David Tennant’s Doctor left Doctor Who. I watched that, what, two weeks ago? Two weeks! Can I…. relate that to writing somehow? Well, I’m sure as heck gonna try. Mainly because I have nothing else to go on.
  3. THE DISTRACTION. The distraction can take many forms, most of which are as cute and fun on the outside as Monty Python’s killer rabbit, and just as deadly to my time. Remember that when Facebook, or Twitter, or checking blog stats feels harmless.
  4. THE RESTART. Somehow, a blogger only realizes what she really means to say after ten minutes and three rambling paragraphs. I think this is the result of some ancient gypsy or pirate curse on technology that gypsies and pirates cannot understand. Maybe it’s from cursed Aztec gold. But I digress.
  5. THE “BUT WHY IS THE TIME GONE?” Because time is to a blogger as rum is to a pirate. Once more, with feeling. Time : blogger :: rum : pirate
  6. THE “PANIC AS SPUR.” Fifty minutes…. No, fifty-three. Fifty three minutes since I started writing this post, and now it’s fifty-four because I’m doing minute math instead of writing…. Got to get back to the writing!
  7. THE “I THINK I’M DONE.” Done! If you don’t count a proofread, picture, adding categories and keywords, scheduling the post to go live and tweet out… Yeah, I’m done.
  8. THE “NOW I’M REALLY DONE.” Seriously. Why do I do this to myself again? I’m telling you, there’s no way I’m going through that again until…. tomorrow. Yep. Never again, until tomorrow.

Hope you enjoyed this post. I hadn’t done one of my “funny lists” in a while, and it was time for one. You can check out my more serious posts about blogging here. πŸ™‚

44 responses to “The process of writing a blog post (from a timey-wimey perspective)

  1. Ha ha so true. I think for every post I write there is a page or two of rambling where I was trying to figure out exactly what it was I wanted to say and how best to say it.

  2. You had me at ‘I’m still not over David Tennant leaving Dr Who’…LOL, neither am I! That, and the cancellation of the tv show Leverage rate as two of my biggest all time tv disappointments!!! Great post, very real and human! But specially right about the wonderful Mr Tennant… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. hilarious and so true!

  4. Oh yes! I’m like this with my novel installment too, so it happens twice every day. I write my ‘blog’ part while walking the dog, and sometimes I’m halfway round the field before any ideas come (probably why today’s post is about Harvest). And boy doesn’t the photo adding, formatting, keyword stuff take forever some days!

  5. So, so true! I can’t count the number of times I go back over a blog post and cut out the first three paragraphs because they were me rambling.

  6. Just watching another episode of The IT Crowd before I start…

  7. You must have seen the Doctor Who episode, “Blink.” πŸ™‚ When I’m “on fire” as you mentioned, I can write a blog post in fifteen minutes. That’s the fastest post I’ve written. But some have been like pulling teeth. Having a solid idea is key for me!!!

  8. Nice post, I’m with you on the David Tennant thing, though… you just start to get used to Matt Smith and what happens??

  9. I’m new in blogging.
    I mean, what’s that a blog? Is that something you think of when you go to sleep, then when you get some ideas for when you wake up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, and then when it’s 8 in the morning and you don’t remember your username?
    ‘Cause I can do that.

  10. This is so very true! I was just explaining to my husband the other day that you cannot just sit down and have a blog in ten minutes…it doesn’t work that way! Plus lets not count the time spent going through your Reader to catch up with your blogging friends, answering comments and emails related to your blog AND messing with widgets, layouts and designs. All in all very time consuming especially when you add in the steps above which happens to me every day, lol.

    Thanks for sharing this!

    • I’m glad you can relate to the post!!! Oh my gosh, widgets and designs and….

      I’ve FORBIDDEN myself from even considering changing my theme again. It’s simply forbidden. Or I’d waste hours on a weekly basis!!!!!!! πŸ˜›

      • I am trying to forbid myself from it! The “little tweaking” takes me hours upon hours sometimes! It’s maddening! HAHAHA! I kinda like what I have so not changing anytime soon!!!

        I can soooooooooooo relate!

        • I hear you. The tweaks will get you big time!!!! I’ve even written before about how blogging forces you to break your perfectionism. Eventually you learn to say, “This isn’t perfect and doesn’t have to be. I have to move on.”

        • Yes it does! I have had a few of those moments like…ugh it isn’t right! And then I have to remind myself…that is okay!

        • I’m always reminding myself that a blog is far, far different than say, a book I’m asking people to pay to read. The expectations are different. The format is different, much less informal.

        • Yes relaxed and informal…a good thing to keep in mind. We have to remember to let loose and just have fun with it, so people can relate to us and our humanness, lol

  11. Oh, I’ve definitely experienced all of those!

  12. Too accurate. But for me usually the last few steps are: hitting “Publish” while swelling with pride, realize I forgot to add tags or categories, sheepishly go back and revise, quietly hit “Update” and hope no one noticed.

  13. I can definitely relate! Funny post!

  14. This is all too true for me, I’m afraid. lol Well said. πŸ™‚

    • Glad you could relate πŸ™‚ Blogging is fun, but man…. the distractions and restarts just kill me πŸ™‚

      • Distractions are killer! Plus, it’s only about once or twice a week that I get a great idea that actually ends up being the final topic for that day’s post. *Eesh!* Most of the time, yeah, I’m staring at a blank screen cudgeling my brain for some scrap of an idea.
        It’s worth it though. My writing and confidence in my abilities have both improved. πŸ™‚

  15. Love this post, just what I needed to get through this stupid shift at work πŸ™‚

  16. Reblogged this on Justin Michael Schmidt and commented:
    Lol, fifty-three minutes? Huh… It generally takes me fifty-three hours, lol. But, this is still a comforting post. I can relate to all of that, to some extent or another.

    You know, the best advice is always the the best, and Victoria implies it here: sit butt in chair, keep writing.

    Now, if only I can learn that…

  17. Reblogged this on Rose's Road and commented:
    Been there, done this.
    A little blogging humor for your Saturday.
    Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  18. Hi Victoria. I just reblogged this post. I hope you don”t mind. It was just too cute not to go back and find it up on a day when my brain is just not working. πŸ™‚
    Thanks!

Join the Conversation

