I’m back! (Well, kind of….)

Hi, guys,

I just wanted to apologize for my extended hiatus, offer you an explanation, and let you know what’s happening.

Good news is, the business and distractions are good ones. I found out a local high school needed a Spanish teacher RIGHT before the school year started, and landed the job. I am very blessed to have found work that (given me and my interests) is personally meaningful and that is allowing me to use my degrees. When I left grad school without my doctorate and knew my plans to be a professor would not come to be (of my choosing, of course), it was terrifying; I won’t lie. I had no idea what God had planned for me. I only knew I had to get out of a toxic professional atmosphere before it destroyed my heart and soul. So I did.

And the first couple of years were ROUGH. Fruitless job searches. Underemployment at a cafΓ©/ restaurant and as a receptionist at a vet where I made $10 an hour. So, I am very blessed to have and thrilled at this new opportunity, and I love the job and the students.

The bad news is, if you’ve ever been a first year teacher (I’ve taught college but not high school), you know how demanding the load is. I have multiple courses to plan and run, and it’s kind of a Herculean (though a wonderful) task. I’m working hours a day after students go home just to keep afloat. That doesn’t leave much time for anything else: including writing fiction or blogging.

I’ve had to put my plans for a Herezoth prequel on hold. I have no idea when I will pick that back up, but hopefully at some point soon! My plans to release revised editions of the trilogy this Fall have also fallen through. I haven’t been able even to think about writing since August. (It’s kind of killing me inside, I won’t lie. I’m going, after Halloween, to try to start setting aside daily time to write in the evening, perhaps, if I can only get myself not to feel guilty about it or too anxious about all the other stuff going on in my life to be able to concentrate on writing…. The joys of being an INFJ, let me tell you….)

So I WILL keep you posted and I will start posting weekly updates. Soon, if I am able to set aside time to think of blog post ideas like I used to write, I want to get the blog back to how it used to be: posts about the writing process and theory.

I’ve also taken down “Writing for You,” because of some concerns I had. Eventually I may try to get a new edition of that up as well.

Since my hiatus began I see you guys have kept coming back and checking in. I can’t say how much that means to me, and I’m sorry I haven’t been able to find the time to stop in here and visit your sites or even post anything. When I say my life has been a whirlwind and I have been learning of strict necessity how to take things day by day (which has never, ever been easy for me, big bouncing ball of anxiety fun that I am), I am not exaggerating. It’s been that kind of nuts. But a wonderful nuts all the same.

Thanks for everything, guys. I miss y’all!

43 responses to “I’m back! (Well, kind of….)

  1. Welcome back! I’m glad you’re enjoying your job; however busy is keeps you. πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on your new job. I looked for a teaching job for 6 years before I gave up. The second year will be easier. Way to go.

  3. Great news on the job front – sometimes we have to put one passion on hold to follow the other. We’ll still be here if you need some more time. Good luck setting up the new course structure and assignments, am sure you’re doing great!

  4. I understand completely what you are going through. My husband is a high school band director and it sucks every but of his time and energy just to stay afloat! Glad you are back.

  5. Welcome back and congrats on the job! Funny, I was just wondering how you were doing a week ago. Very cool about the teacher gig. Seems half the people I know are in that field and they all say it gets easier after the first year. Good luck!

  6. Totally understand, and I’m glad to see you’re doing well! My husband lost his job six months ago, and I’ve put all my writing on hiatus as well so I can work two part time jobs to help support our family of eight. Couple that with still trying to homeschool four of my kids, and I’ve barely time to sleep at night; forget writing!
    I’ve adopted the attitude that by the time things settle down again, I’ll be so focused on editing and rewriting that I’ll be able to zoom through my latest book and refine it efficiently. At least that gives me some comfort while I fret about my characters as I ignore them . . .

  7. We all encounter distractions at times that keep us from writing. The reasons aren’t as important as having the drive to return to itβ€”and we know you have that in spades! Congrats on the job, and don’t worryβ€”we’re here whenever you can make it!

  8. Congratulations on the new job! I completely understand. I wonder how those that work full-time have the time and energy to write. Now that I’m retired, it is still difficult. As the saying goes: life gets in the way. I am sure that once things get settled and you get used to the routine, you’ll get back to writing. Best of luck to you! πŸ™‚

  9. Welcome back. Take heart. The first year of teaching in a new job is always demanding of one’s time. Lesson plans, grading papers, etc. all require hours and hours and interrupt our other activities. You’ll be back writing soon.

  10. Congratulations in finding a job that you are so enjoying. I hope you can find the balance you require and that you will return to writing and blogging, soon.

  11. Congratulations on the job! I taught briefly, and I remember what a huge amount of work it was. Good luck with it, and if you manage to fit in any writing I’ll be very impressed.

  12. Victoria, you are a gifted person on so many levels…and you are using all of your gifts. Congrats on your teaching position! It’s a joy to be able to do something that you find rewarding and that pays the bills as well!

    That said, of course you’ve been missed. However, please don’t feel too bad or alone in your “change of plans.” I all but gave up writing for seven years due to other pressing matters in my life. So, I understand your inner struggle. But you know what? You will eventually find the time to do some writing, even if it’s just a little bit every day, and you’ll come back stronger than ever. Revising previous editions of your books is a great way to keep connected to your writing–and to keep growing as a writer.

    I wish you the best of luck with all your endeavors. Keep in touch, lady!

  13. Victoria, you gave me a scare. I tried to visit your site just yesterday, after being on a hiatus of my own for a few months, and was told that your domain name had expired! Oh, no! I thought you’d given up on your writing all together! Say it isn’t so!

    Then today I received an email saying you’d posted again. That was such a relief. Please, please, please keep writing as much as you can in your spare time.

    When I was your age, I thought I was still too young to write novels. I’d read “advice” from experienced authors that I interpreted to mean there was no good reason to even try to write novels until you were well into your 30s. So I put off the dream. But my early- to mid-30s was so full of upheaval, I could scarcely think about writing. Life doesn’t let up, either. There will always be something to get in the way of your writing if you let it, as I did. I’m now in my mid-50s, and it’s all the more difficult to write now because I never got into a writing routine.

    At the end of each day, when I look back at it, I feel I could have taken at least an hour to write. But so many days go by when I don’t. It’s harder to build the necessary discipline the older you get. So if writing is something you really want in your life, find a way to keep it there on an ongoing basis, even if you’re not publishing that often. Your older self will thank you down the road.

    • thanks so much, Michael!!! I’m determined to keep writing. Just need to figure out how to work that time in. πŸ™‚ even if I start with half an hour a day, it’s far, far better than nothing!

  14. It’s great to see you, Victoria. πŸ™‚ Congrats and well done on getting a job that you love! I am so pleased for you. I’m sure you will be able to bring your new experiences into your writing once you have time again to pick up that pen. In the meantime, all the best to you!

  15. Welcome back, and great to hear that you got a new job, even if it is keeping you busy.

  16. Cate Russell-Cole

    I miss you, but am so pleased things are working out. πŸ™‚

  17. Life happens, you know? Just keep doing your thing. I think we’ll always be here πŸ™‚ Enjoy that new adventure!

  18. Well done on the new post. I know what it is like starting out in the first year of teaching. It can be overwhelming leaving you too tired for writing. Congrats. πŸ™‚

    • thanks so much!!! It’s really helpful to remember I’m not the only going through the adjustment or the only one who has! It’s extremely worthwhile but there are definitely tough days.

  19. nice to see you back! Haven’t been around that much myself so was rather shocked when I tried to pop in and you had disappeared. Glad to hear life is going so well, too πŸ˜€

  20. I bet you’re doing a fantastic job! I’ve sure been there. I remember years where I lived at school. Then you learn to sacrifice some things and not others. After 13 years, I’m getting ready to start teaching a new course and curriculum. Kind of nervous and excited.

    I hope you’ve figured out how to balance it all since you wrote this. Take care of yourself! Your students appreciate you, even if they haven’t told you, or if they don’t know it yet!

  21. I just returned to the blogging world myself this month. I have not seen any posts from you pop up in my feed and was beginning to wonder if you were still on here so tonight I finally found a way to search and found your blog. Glad to hear your teaching is going well and that you are still blogging.

    I have to say that I vanished from the blogging work to focus on school. I started a nursing program and it’s been so long since I was in school – I got my bachelor of science back in 2009, so I figured stepping right into a higher level class would be daunting. It was not.
    I rediscovered my love for learning. I am like a sponge, I can soak up every piece of information you give me and I remember it all and I study relentlessly at home, every chance I get. In my Anatomy % Physiology class I scored 100% on the first two tests and 98% on the second test and 100% on the final. Aced that class! Now I’m just waiting to take the TEAS test and apply for final acceptance. I’m excited and yet upset at the same time. I’m finally back on worpress, finally blogging and now, looming ahead , is the beginning of a vigorous schedule of classes and clinicals – pretty much it will be 8 + hours a day.
    I’m glad I found your blog again thought – you were always so inspiring!

Join the Conversation

