It’s been a while…. oops! Sorry for disappearing!

Hi guys. I know it’s been a while, and I’m sorry. Life has been nuts. Let me explain what is going on.

First, work was a bit crazy. It’s going to be crazy for any first year teacher. 🙂 It was a good crazy, and I learned tons, but it was still crazy. Especially toward the end of the year.

Second, I had a lot of choices to make and a lot to consider. I had to figure out if I wanted to return and teach a second year. I knew it would get easier in the second year, but I wasn’t sure I’m meant to be a teacher. I’m a bit too introverted. I get drained when I am “on” for long periods, and I was not a big fan of being in front of big groups all day. Teaching is a beautiful and wonderful career, and my students were great, for sure. I just don’t have the specific strengths that make a teacher thrive.

I decided teaching isn’t what I’m meant to do, so it’s off to the next adventure…. Not sure what that will be just yet. But I know it’s coming and it will teach me new and different things. So that’s good. Anyway, I will definitely try to be better about posting. I can’t believe I was gone as long as I was. I was dealing with some personal stuff…. Still am, but now the school year is finished I have immeasurably more time on my hands.

So I will be back. In fact, I’m about to write a real post right now. I do plan to be more active….. Active regularly. Thanks for bearing with me!

18 responses to “It’s been a while…. oops! Sorry for disappearing!

  1. Glad you’re back 🙂

  2. angietrafford

    Welcome back!
    I look forward to reading your posts 🙂

  3. Welcome back. Been there with the teaching. Doesn’t hurt to try things for a bit. Hope the next adventure is a lot of fun.

  4. Welcome back. One of the great lessons in life is knowing what you don’t want to do, and if teaching doesn’t fill you with a sense of joy and achievement, then it is not for you. Just out of curiosity, did you have a Mentor Teacher at your school? I was one for many years, working mostly with first-year teachers, and it is the hardest year for all. You will find your bliss and follow it.

    • Hi! I did have a mentor teacher and lots of support. I worked with a great group of people. And I know the second year would be easier; it was what you mention: the joy and passion factor. I’m feeling called to something else. 🙂 Thanks for reflection here!!!

  5. I’m so glad to see you are back, but no one understands better than I about infrequent posting. If I was to venture a guess, I would say that the reason you felt unfulfilled as a teacher, it because you are a writer. You may have resented the time away from writing, because that is what you wanted to do all along. I know when I gave up writing for all of those years, I couldn’t understand why I didn’t like my job. I was great at customer service and even got a few awards and accolades for it, but I always felt like a bird in a cage. I hated to have to punch a time-card every day, and have to be there at a certain time–that wasn’t for me. Perhaps this could be the issue for you as well. Whatever it is, it is very nice to see you again! 🙂

  6. Welcome back, I’ve missed your posts.

  7. Boy, do I understand how draining teaching is as an introvert! By the end of the quarter, it’s like everyone around me is an energy vampire sucking the life out of me! It really is like a performance, and I am actually amazed I’ve managed to do it as long as I have.

    I’m trying to cut back so I can write, because teaching also pulls on the same creative well that writing does and wow, is it hard to muster a decent sentence much less wrangle a plot problem or anything major when that well is dry.

    It’s hard to realize what’s going on and I think it’s awesome!! that you have so soon. I’m 8 years in and almost had a nervous breakdown last year deciding whether or not to try for a tenure-track position. I realized eventually I really never would write if I did that, so I declined, but it was a really, really hard decision to make.

    I look forward to more of your great posts — take it easy, though, until you get recharged!

  8. Welcome back. 🙂 Teaching at times has the power to drain all the energy that you have.

Join the Conversation

