I’m back. Here’s where I’ve been….

Hi guys. It has been a crazy year, and lots has happened. Not bad things, just lots of things. I have been trying to figure a lot out, and focusing on my faith life, and growing a lot internally. The Judeochristian tradition has a concept of being “in the desert,” based on the Exodus of the Hebrew people from Egypt. I have been in the desert the last two years, discovering who I am, what God means to make of me, and where He intends to bring me.

In the midst of things I let my fiction writing slide, which means I let the blog slide.

Sadly, that also means my domain expired and I lost crimsonleague.com. So please follow this site now at http://www.crimsonleague.wordpress.com.

I apologize for any confusion and frustration. I thought I would be able to pay and renew it, but apparently someone bought it…. There are worse things. I still have access to my old content, and so will you, just at the wordpress.com url.

Anyways, I feel I owe you an explanation of what has happened over the last year or two, where I was blogging so sparsely and then not at all. Here are the basics.

1.) I took a job teaching high school Spanish, which dominated my life from August 2014 to May 2015. I did not go back because I could tell I am not made to teach high school.

2.) Another reason I left was to discern religious life. I am Catholic, and as I have grown closer to the Lord, I could feel him calling me to investigate being either a Carmelite or Dominican sister. After some visits to communities and a beautiful vocational retreat, I came to realize that yes, God had called me to investigate religious life for some very personal and beautiful reasons, but that His call for me is not that. He has work for me to do in the fields of academics and evangelization that I could not do under the obligations of religious vows. That said:

3.) I AM GOING BACK TO GRAD SCHOOL! I could not be more excited to be starting classes online in September in theology. My program is accredited and will allow me a specialization in systematic theology, which I am most interested in. I hope to write a thesis and/or dissertation down the road about St. Teresa of Avila and St. John of the Cross, which would bring my former graduate studies in Golden Age Spain into play, since both of those saints, Doctors of the Church, lived and wrote during that time.

4.) I worked at a café for a year after leaving teaching, and now am working for a doctor, doing office work and learning the ins and outs of insurance and eyes and glasses and such.

5.) I went on pilgrimage to Rome and Avila this year, in June. It was a trip of a lifetime… The pics above are from that journey.

6.) I started writing poetry. Specifically, sonnets. They are spiritual in theme and they helped me process what it means to be in the desert…. I started a new blog for them and am putting them up, slowly but surely. If you are interested, you can read more about my spiritual journey and what lies behind them, as well as the sonnets themselves, at http://www.desertsonnets.com.

I think that about covers it. Part of me thinks I should not have taken the extended break, and part of me thinks it was very necessary for a number of reasons… Either way, I’m not entirely sure how this blog will develop or where I will take it. The tone and structure of my posts may change, but I do plan to get back to writing about what it means to be a writer. So I hope you stick around to join me on the journey.

18 responses to “I’m back. Here’s where I’ve been….

  1. What fantastic adventures you’ve had! I think that’s the entire purpose of life: to have adventures, to find out what God wants us to learn. That journey is different for every person, and often people make many of those trips. I’m so glad you’re doing well, and happy to hear you’ve got another great project ahead of you.
    And I’m glad to see you’re back!

    • Thanks Trish. It is so good to hear from you! It has been an amazing adventure for sure and I can’t wait to see how God leads me to proceed in my studies and use my theology degree for His glory. And even with that said, I have been learning that who I become and how closely I walk with the Lord is more important to the Lord than what work I do.

  2. Welcome back. Sounds like you had an amazing time. Sorry to hear about the domain though.

  3. Glad to have you back! 🙂 xx

  4. Welcome back, I was just wondering what had become of you a few days ago. I hope you’ll consider writing at least a few posts about writing, I always enjoyed those.

    • Thanks Colin for your message, and especially for your suggestion. I definitely hope to be able to find topics related to writing to blog about and expect that to work itself out.

  5. Welcome back! Enjoy your journey, you can never go wrong following Him. All the best.

  6. Pingback: I’m back. Here’s where I’ve been…. | John Oliver Mason

  7. Thank you for sharing your journey with me. And I’m very interested to see what you will do with blog.
    All the best.

  8. Melissa Menten

    I am particularly fond of the Carmelites, myself. My oldest child has St Therese as one of her patrons. Congrats on grad school!

  9. I wish you luck in your writing. There are many things to discover in life and so little time. The only arbiter of what to pursue is you.
    Keep writing

Join the Conversation

